Uphill Battles

There’s always gonna be another mountain

I’m always gonna wanna make it move

Always gonna be a uphill battle

Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose

Miley Cyrus had it right.

Life will always be an uphill battle; what defines the person really, is how strong they can be and if they can keep pushing on.

It’s hard though when it seems that every summit climbed crumbles, pulling you down in its avalanche of struggle and pain as the mountain seems to climb higher and higher into the sky as your troubles pile on.

The thing is, I don’t think I can keep starting the climb; it’s getting so exhausting to start up, again and again, every day in a world where society is constantly clawing its gnarly fingers down your throat to scrape every last bit of ‘you’ out and throw it to the wasteland at your feet.

I have never been a huge fan of Miley – in the sense that I stalk her twitter or anything I mean, I enjoy a few of her songs whenever the radio introduces me to them with the news she has a new album out. I find she gets a lot of shit though. Which is really unfortunate, considering so many of her songs are about powering through the hard times and being happy with who you are.

Which isn’t really the point I am trying to make here, but it does feel relevant to me.

My point is this: depression, and the anxiety that shadows its cruel dives, is this impossible battle I have to face daily.

It’s an ever-changing, always evolving enemy that lives inside me; my every thought – conscious and nocturnal – tainted by its poison.

And it is a struggle that I have to face with the constant opinions, thoughts and bullshit of society drowning the remaining remnants of my sanity.

Today, like most days, I feel like the world is full of assholes.

Just like any rule though, there are some exceptions; maybe you’re one?

 

 

Leave a comment